Sunset view of the Sundial with MacCracken Hall in background

Student Academic Achievement

2016 Award Recipients

View the most recent award recipients.

The Provost's Student Academic Achievement Award (PSAAA) is given annually to students who have achieved an outstanding record of academic excellence. The selection committee reviews nominations and awards 10–15 students with a $1000 scholarship and certificate of recognition.

Selection Process


Students nominated for this award must have obtained the following:

  • Junior status (minimum of 75 credit hours) at the time of application/nomination
  • Outstanding record of academic achievement and sustained and significant contributions to the intellectual climate of a department, an academic division, or the campus

Past award winners typically have made outstanding contributions to the field or discipline beyond the typical course and major requirements.  For example, many of the winners have presented or published their work in national outlets, earned a prestigious national or international fellowship, or won a major national or regional competition in their field of study.


Applications/nominations are made in the spring of each year. Students can apply directly through a department or program. Faculty can also nominate students through their department. Directors of the Honors Program, Undergraduate Summer Scholars (USS) program, and the Office of Global Initiatives are also invited to submit nominations through the appropriate academic department.

One or more letters of support from faculty members in addition to the nomination letter are preferred.

Names and supporting credentials of leading nominees selected by the departments are submitted to the Deans who then select names from among those nominees for final submission to the Provost.

Review the nomination materials and deadlines.


The following members of the Provost's Selection Committee review nominations and select award recipients:

  • Provost (or designate)
  • Dean of Students (or designate)
  • Two award recipients from the previous year chosen by the Provost
  • Two faculty members chosen by the Provost